The Ice Cream Man’s Market

I'm sold by a Peruvian ice cream bike.

I'm sold by a Peruvian ice cream bike.

Last night I ran after the ice cream man in Lima Peru. There was no bell. Only a big bicycle filled with sweet treats. I looked at my husband as we enjoyed an ocean sunset from the San Isidro (Lima neighborhood) cliff and said, “Ice cream man. Want one?” He nodded and I was off. Problem was it took me 10 minutes to ask if there was chocolate at the bottom of the thing that looked like a King Cone. My husband is simple. He just wanted an ice cream sandwich. No frills. No questions needed. I simply can’t speak Spanish and next time when we come for vacation instead of because of an accident, I will be more fluent. I was saved by a teenager on a skate board who could understand what I was asking and clarified for the ice cream man. “Si, si.” He said and in Spanish the teenager found out there is a tiny amount of chocolate at the bottom of the cone. Sold. But then of course I had no idea how much he was asking me for so I just handed him ten solas (which is about 3/4 dollars). He gave me change and I was off to the blanket my husband and I were enjoying. The ice cream was soft though, and we had a good laugh about the difference between ice cream trucks and ice cream bikes. But, hey just different tools for different markets. One reaches pedestrians enjoying a sunset and another the children inside their homes deep into the next television show. Are you thinking through the tools you use to reach your target market? If you’re an author and you need books sales, target book reviewers and radio hosts — they sell more books for you. That’s what we’re doing for Dr. Jonathan Ellerby, Spiritual Director of Canyon Ranch. If you’re pushing the next best product, target gift round-up editors and producers like we’re doing for Bella Bear Company. Then, you can lick the sweet treats of your pursuit.

The view of Lima from a cliff in the San Isidro neighborhood.

The view of Lima from a cliff in the San Isidro neighborhood.

 

My husband Shannon recovering nicely and enjoying a Peruvian Sunset.

My husband Shannon recovering nicely and enjoying a Peruvian Sunset.

Leave a Reply

