Spirituality

What is the true difference between spirituality and religion? Like a lot of Americans, I’m a recovering Catholic school girl; nine years of daily mass sprinkled with my ABCs. After attending a theater program at a Catholic college, DePaul I played Joan of Arc and worked for the performing arts arm of Call to Action, a nonprofit out to reform the Cathlolic church. No longer too public with my core beliefs (except for here), today I sit in a Native American circle regularly in Asheville, North Carolina, celebrating my great grandmother who was a Cherokee Indian. I feel at home there. Finally. One could say, I guess, my family religion is Catholic and my spirituality is Native American. I don’t know how to make sense of it all, like most Americans. My new client gives me hope for clarity: Dr. Jonathan Ellerby is the Spiritual Director of Canyon Ranch and he can assist us all in making sense of our family religion, our core spirituality and how it relates to being satisfied in life. I’ll post more as I learn more from him.

Leave a Reply

